Kyodo News
Back to Main
JAL, ANA to bar nationals of 7 Muslim states from U.S.-bound flights

IATA has told its member airlines that the United States will
not accept passengers from the seven countries, and Japan's two major
air carriers decided Monday to bar in principle people from seven
Muslim-majority countries from taking flights from Japan to the United States
following President Donald Trump's entry ban, officials of the companies said.

The decisions by Japan Airlines Co. and All Nippon Airways Co.
came after Trump on Friday signed an executive order barring
nationals of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia Sudan, Syria and Yemen from
entering the United States for 90 days.

People bearing the passports of any of the seven countries
during check-in will not be allowed to take U.S.-bound flights in
principle, the officials said, adding that the move was an interim
measure and there had been no cases so far of passengers being
prevented from traveling.

ANA will check with the U.S. border protection authorities
whether to allow passengers from the seven countries who hold
diplomatic visas to board flights and will refund fares in full in
the event of refusal, the company's officials said.

Japan Airlines earlier planned to consult U.S. authorities about
passengers planning to travel with passports of the seven countries,
but the carrier later decided to bar such passengers from boarding,
except those with diplomatic visas, following a notification from the
International Air Transport Association, JAL officials said.
"We will deal (with the matter) in accordance with the decision
of IATA," a JAL official said.

Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said during a House of Councillors
Budget Committee session that he is in "no position to comment" on
Trump's entry ban, but the "international community should work
together to deal with refugees."

Trump's executive order indefinitely suspended the entry of
Syrian refugees to the United States and the admission of refugees
from all countries for 120 days, as part of measures he claims are
aimed at preventing Islamist terrorists from entering the country. (Jan. 30)